A sermon on suffering

For some people the prospect of having to endure any sermon on any subject is the highest form of suffering, but how about a sermon specifically designed to address the subject of suffering? Well, last Sunday that’s exactly what I spoke about at Highland MB Church in Calgary. The message primarily drew on themes from my book.

Here’s the audio:

Now, I’m always one for refining my skills as a public speaker, and it seems to me there are a number of areas for improvement. Below is a list of observations I made, and if you can think of any others please contact me.

  • My train of thought near the beginning doesn’t flow as well as I’d like.
  • I’m pretty monotone. This is probably a sub-conscious reaction to the many pastors who focus on enthusiasm to the exclusion of real content – a pattern I don’t ever want to be accused of following – but I think I could stand for at least a little more voice fluctuation. Even Engineers can be interesting, if we try really, really, hard.
  • Just before the start of the service I realized the key point of my sermon wasn’t as clear as I wanted it to be. I jotted down some notes, but I didn’t deliver that section as convincingly as I’d like to.
  • I don’t say “um” too often, but it’s still a good idea to screen those out a little better than I did.

Others? Thanks for your honesty.

One thought on “A sermon on suffering

Comments are closed.