Transgender athletics

So a biological male competed against biological females in a high school track and field and, not surprisingly, did pretty well.

I say “not surprisingly” because contra the claim that gender is merely a social construct, it is, in actual fact, a deeply biological reality. Some other writers describe this better than I do.

Carl Trueman observes,

My son, for example, ran track for the University of Pennsylvania where he was a moderately good middle distance runner. Were he to identify as a woman, he would currently hold the world mile record. This is a policy which is really very detrimental to women and the future of women’s sports.

[My emphasis.]

Yes, a “moderately good” male runner would absolutely clobber the entire field of female athletes.

Speaking of clobber, a female MMA fighter had this to say about the time she competed against a male athlete who identified as female,

“I’ve fought a lot of women and have never felt the strength that I felt in a fight as I did that night. I can’t answer whether it’s because she was born a man or not, because I’m not a doctor,” she stated. “I can only say, I’ve never felt so overpowered ever in my life, and I am an abnormally strong female in my own right. ”

Fox’s “grip was different,” Brents added. “I could usually move around in the clinch against…females but couldn’t move at all in Fox’s clinch.”

[My emphasis]

So fighting a male is different than fighting a female. Go figure.

Just how different are males and females, biologically? Well, let’s take a look at some facts.

Tallest height:

Average height (of Canadians):

  • Men – 5′ 9″
  • Women – 5′ 4″

Olympic weightlifting records:

  • Men’s clean & jerk – 264 kg
  • Women’s clean & jerk – 193 kg

100 m sprint records:

  • Men – 9.63 seconds
  • Women – 10.62 seconds

Endurance (Boston Marathon records):

  • Men – 2.03.02
  • Women – 2.18.57

If men regularly start competing in women’s athletics under the banner of “transgender” it won’t take long for the concept of women’s athletics to be robbed of any real meaning. All it will take is one of those men to crush the existing record in one of those sports (like, say, the middle distance running as mentioned previously) and in the name of political correctness that record will stand for all time. No biological female will stand a chance of beating it now, or at any time in the foreseeable future.

Even if that man then retires and no other “transgender” man ever competes in women’s sports, the record will be untouchable. The impact of just one man setting a new record in just one event – and that will eventually happen (it’s already happening in MMA) – will endure far beyond that man’s career in female athletics.

We’ll just end up with “men’s athletics,” and “the other men’s athletics.” There isn’t much point in women competing in men’s athletics, for reasons listed above, and eventually there won’t be much point in women competing in their own athletics.

It’s as if the progressive community wants to see women back in the kitchens or something.

One thought on “Transgender athletics

Comments are closed.